Our Story

After seeing historic trucks being stolen, rock writing being vandalized, historic buildings being burned, and artifacts like stone tools being taken, a group of Nevada Site Stewardship Program volunteers started Nevadans for Cultural Preservation. The founding board saw the need to educate the public about the importance of these resources, the laws that protect them, and share the joy of preserving them for the future generations to enjoy. 

Board Members

Executive Director: Rayette Martin M.A. is a cultural anthropologist with over 16 years of experience exploring the Nevada outdoors. She has a combined 20 years of supervisory and volunteer management experience and enjoys working with the public.

President: Katie Hoffman is an archaeologist and artist. Her interests currently lie in prehistoric ceramic technology and she has a passion for educating youth. 

Secretary: Laura Traymany has a B.A. in Archaeology and is a master teacher for the Clark County School District.

Treasurer: Justin DeMaio is an archaeologist who enjoys fieldwork and sharing his knowledge of the past. 

Director: Dr. Barbara Roth professor of Archaeology at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Director: Dr. Kevin Rafferty is an emeritus professor at the College of Southern Nevada.

Nonvoting Director: Samantha Rubinson PhD. runs a large statewide volunteer organization and is passionate about archaeology and public involvement.



Donate Volunteer Find an Event